Drunken Passover Grilled Cheese… WOW.

Leave a comment

Okay, so Passover starts this coming Friday and I have mixed feelings about it. Don’t get me wrong, I love Passover. It’s a time when my family and friends all come together and we feast on lots of amazing food like brisket, potatoes and matzo ball soup. But, after the first few days of celebration, Passover gets hard.

I’m not sure how much you guys know about Passover (here’s a history of the holiday) but, for various religious reasons, Jews can’t eat a variety of foods like leavened bread for 8 days. 8 days?! I’m telling you, no matter how delicious matzo is, after a few days, you run out of ways to eat it creatively.

But now I’ve found this magical recipe… Drunken Passover Grilled Cheese (insert amazed sigh here).

Photo From: Doves and Figs

Photo From: Doves and Figs

Originally published on Doves and Figs, this recipe boasts a simple but creative way to enjoy matzo (and a little wine too). This recipe is also awesome because it is so easy to make and involves only a handful of easy to find ingredients. What could be better?

Ingredients:

  • 2 pieces of egg matzo
  • cheddar cheese
  • Manischewitz
  • Butter (for frying)

Instructions:

  • Basically, this works like a regular grilled cheese sandwich with one exception: soak the matzo in the wine (just until wet but not soggy) before you sandwich the cheese between the matzo and fry it. Easy!

Full instructions and more information can be found here.

So my Jewish (and non-Jewish friends): I hope you can get into the Passover spirit with this nifty little recipe!

Leave a comment