You’re a Wizard, Harry.

1 Comment

Let me preface by warning you that this post has nothing to do with food. However, it does have to do with something almost as awesome…

Harry Potter.

Make fun all you want but I grew up obsessing over the books and movies; I believe that reading Harry Potter books is when I first developed a love of reading (and eventually writing).  So, when I found out that I had to use GoAnimate to create a short clip from a movie of my choosing, the choice was easy.

I chose to *attempt* to animate the iconic scene from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone when Hagrid tells Harry that he’s a wizard. This scene defines the entire series, after all.

Honestly, though I made a good effort, I feel like my animation doesn’t live up to the high expectations that I set for myself. First of all, I personally didn’t enjoy using GoAnimate; I can’t pinpoint exactly why but I never felt comfortable on it even though it took me a very long time to create this really short scene. Also, while this is not the software’s fault, I had trouble finding characters and scenes that fit the look I was going for. Perhaps that’s what you get for using the free account rather than upgrading. Do I think I would use this software again? No, not willingly but it was a good experience!

One thought on “You’re a Wizard, Harry.

  1. Your animation was good! What I used for my animation I guess was a very different type of theme, so I was a little confused when I first saw a hand in your animation. The overall effect of it is great though. The actual clip of audio from that specific scene in the movie is what really pulls it together. And as for the software itself, I have very similar feelings towards it as you. I would NOT use it again unless I was A) getting paid to or B) using the subscribed version of the software. But ideally it would be a combination of those two scenarios…

    Like

Leave a Reply

