Hamantaschen: Snow Day Purim Treats

7 Comments

So, today is Purim people and that means only one thing for foodies… hamantaschen!

Confused?

If you’re not Jewish, you probably are.

Purim is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the saving of the Jewish people in ancient Persia from annihilation. You can find a more complete history of Purim here.

Hamantaschen are amazingly delicious, triangular cookies filled with all different types of fillings. Favorite traditional fillings are prune, raspberry, and apricot jams but, really, the filling possibilities are endless.ย unbaked

baked

Here in New Jersey, it’s a snowy snowy Purim so my mom and I decided it was like fate telling us to make some hamantaschen. We keep it pretty traditional as far as fillings: raspberry, apricot, chocolate (a more modern twist) and our own raspberry-chocolate hybrid.

But here’s the catch…ย we make the best hamantaschen.

How?

A secret ingredient that we’ll never reveal ๐Ÿ˜‰ (well maybe if you ask nicely!)

Enjoy your Purim everyone!

Are you guys making anything interesting today?

7 thoughts on “Hamantaschen: Snow Day Purim Treats

  1. Those look so good! One of my cousins in Italy just sent me a recipe for nutella cookies that kind of look like this – you make the dough out of nutella and then put nutella filling inside! I wish I could bake so I could make them today but unfortunately I’m just doing homework ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ha!

    Like

  2. I’m not Jewish but my gran always used to make them, this took me back to good memories, thanks! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  3. Ok..I had no intentions of baking this weekend but after seeing this photo, I may reconsider!๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  4. I’m not Jewish and I’ve never heard of the name of these cookies but I have had similar Italian cookies. I really want to know how you mixed raspberry and chocolate filling. That sounds irresistible.

    Like

  5. Those look delicious! I actually work for an eye doctor who is Jewish and when he decided to take a day off on Thursday, I was so curious as to what exactly Purim is. Good thing I have your blog to tell me! and even better, looking at those pastries makes me sad that I didn’t celebrate (well, I’m not Jewish so I guess I shouldn’t feel too bad).

    Like

  6. Those look so awesome!!! Omg please do put up ingredeints to share! I would love to try one

    Like

  7. These look awesome, I agree with everyone you should definitely add the ingredients, I would love to try them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

