Second Time’s a Charm

7 Comments

When I heard that we were going to be using WordPress to design blogs for class, I was secretly very excited. I’m not extremely tech savvy and was nervous that we were going to be setting up websites with complex software. However, this was not the case.

Photo From: The Creative Penn

Photo From: The Creative Penn

In a class last year, I created and maintained my own WordPress blog in much the same way as we will in the class. Thus, creating the physical blog was not very challenging for me (though I’m still learning how to navigate some of the features that WordPress offers). I did not encounter any significant problems applying a theme (although I’m disappointed in the lack of choices in free themes) or setting up pages and widgets.

In my experience, the most difficult aspect of setting up this blog was deciding on a topic to blog about for an entire semester. That kind of commitment takes a lot of hard thought and decision making. This process was made harder by the fact that I don’t necessarily have one standout passion or hobby that I know I could talk about expertly for 15 weeks. For instance, I’m not obsessed with a sport, I’m not a photographer and I’m not a musician. However, after a lot of thought I realized that food is something that you don’t need expertise in to blog about; we all enjoy food without a formal background or education because it’s universal. That is how It’s All About the Food came to be!

Photo From: BuzzFeed

Photo From: BuzzFeed

7 thoughts on “Second Time’s a Charm

  1. I like the simple theme you picked, it’s easy to navigate. Based on the ‘5 Tips’ article, you follow all of them with the except of a header; but that’s going to be a future assignment so it’s okay.

    Like

  2. I’m excited to see what and where you blog about for the next few weeks. I also love food and would love to find places around New Brunswick that are a little under the radar. I like the minimalist aspect of this site, but I feel like you do not talk enough about yourself on the Meet the Editor page. Add something like what your favorite food/ type of food is or something like that.

    Like

  3. Hi! I really like how your blog has to do with food! I think I can speak for everyone when I say that I would like to be a official foodie one day when I have the money. I think the topic is awesome to talk about since people can easily be interested and relate to the topic. I like your foundation. I think it is extremely simple and for someone who may not be tech savvy it is super easy to follow. Good job! I think the one thing you could improve on is the header or the thing that catches people’s attention. Maybe a picture of appealing food or your favorite dish would be great! People usually like to know what the blog is about as soon as they enter in and a picture is worth a thousand words. I really like you blog though and look forward to your posts!

    Like

  4. I am all about food which is number one reason I am following! Second I love the way you lay everything out with the pics in your writings. I am slowly learning a lot goes on within this website! So from the “5 Tips” your foundation is great. The theme, idea, and way you laid it out. Only thing I could really comment on if I had to is I would love to see more color. Which will happen when food pics come onto your blog! Cant wait!

    Like

  5. Hey, I really enjoy the simplicity of your blog along with the ease of navigation. Bob Dunn mentions the foundation being important in terms of the theme chosen. Great job with tackling that and also the organization of the images in the post. I’m excited to see your progress throughout the semester !

    Like

  6. I like the layout or “foundation” of your wordpress page very much. Hopefully we can have some good discussions on food in the future. The only thing I might consider changing has to do with the actual font of the text itself on your page. I’m not sure where or how you changed the font used on your wordpress site (I’d really to know actually). In my opinion the font is a little too small to read and the colors of your background don’t help with the text popping out. It might be easier for everyone to read if you just bumped the font size up a few clicks.

    Like

  7. HI, I’m April from your class! I was drawn to your blog because mine also talked about food. I’m really impressed with your layout, since I am having difficulty navigating this site. I’m missing a lot of things, because I do not know how to access them. I like that you posted memes to be entertaining too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

